Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to search

Center for Ethics and the Rule of Law



CERL Director Claire Finkelstein

Claire Finkelstein
CERL Faculty Director and Algernon Biddle Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy

Mark Fallon

Mark Fallon
Interim Executive Director

Jenn Cohen

Jenn Cohen
Director of Engagement



Ilya Rudyak

Ilya Rudyak
Senior Fellow

Executive Board Members 

Harold Berger
Of Counsel and Managing Shareholder Emeritus
Berger Montague

Vivian Berger
Nash Professor of Law Emerita
Columbia Law School,

Sean Carter
Cozen O’Connor


James Clapper
Former U.S. Director of National Intelligence

William Craven
Overwatch Systems, Inc.

Arlene Fickler
Schnader Harrison


Kevin Govern
Professor of Law
Ave Maria School of Law


Duncan MacIntosh
Professor of Philosophy
Dalhousie University


Alberto Mora 
Associate Executive Director for Global Programs
American Bar Association’s Rule of Law Initiative

Christopher Morris 
Professor of Philosophy
University of Maryland

Jens David Ohlin 
Dean and Professor of Law
Cornell University Law School

Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker
Dean Emerita
McGeorge School of Law; Former General Counsel, CIA and NSA


Connie Rosati Professor of Philosophy
The University of Texas at Austin


Shawn Turner
Senior Advisor for Strategic Engagement, Office of the Secretary, Dept. of Veterans Affairs


Joseph Votel
General (Ret.), U.S. Army; President & CEO, Business Executives for National Security (BENS)

Paul Welsh
Vice President
Analytical Graphics, Inc.

Stephen Xenakis Brigadier General (Ret.), U.S. Army

Jules Zacher
Attorney, Jules Zacher, P.C.; Board Member,
Council For a Livable World


Dell Dailey
Executive Board Emertius, President Dell Dailey and Family; fmr Ambassador-at-Large, Department of State 

Paul Haaga
Executive Board Emeritus
former Chair of the Board, Capital Research and Management Company




Advisory Council

Anita Allen
Henry R. Silverman Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy
University of Pennsylvania
William Burke-White
Richard Perry Professor, Perry World House;
Professor of Law
University of Pennsylvania
George Croner

Senior Fellow
Foreign Policy Research Institute

Stuart Diamond
Emeritus Practice Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics
The Wharton School
University of Pennsylvania

Mark Fallon
Former Sr. Executive, Department of Homeland Security; International Security Consultant

Edna Foa
Professor of Clinical Psychology in Psychiatry
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Robert Fuller, Jr.
Captain, U.S. Navy, Judge Advocate General’s Corps (Ret.); Author

David Gauthier
Professor Emeritus Philosophy Department
University of Pittsburgh
Philadelphia, PA 12/12/2013 Derek Gillman the director of the Barnes Foundation. Gillman will be ...
Derek Gillman

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Art History and Museum Leadership
Drexel University
Michael Horowitz
Director, Perry World House; Richard Perry Professor, University of Pennsylvania
David Jonas
Fluet Huber + Hoang PLLC
Firoozeh Kashani-Sabet
Walter H. Annenberg Professor of History
University of Pennsylvania
Vijay Kumar
Nemirovsky Family Dean of Penn Engineering
University of Pennsylvania

Martin Lederman

Professor from Practice
Georgetown University Law Center

Sharon Lloyd

Professor of Philosophy, Law, and Political Science
University of Southern California

Jeff McMahan
White’s Professor of Moral Philosophy
University of Oxford

Mary Ellen O’Connell
Robert and Marion Short Professor of Law;
Research Professor of International Dispute Resolution
University of Notre Dame Law School

for the Business Resource and Innovation Center at the Parkway Central branch of the Free Library...

Eric Orts
Guardsmark Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics
 The Wharton School
University of Pennsylvania

Richard Painter
S. Walter Richey Professor of Corporate Law
University of Minnesota Law School


Harvey Rubin
Professor of Medicine Microbiology and Computer Science
University of Pennsylvania
Stephen Sheller
Founding Partner
Sheller P.C.

Rogers Smith
Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Political Science
University of Pennsylvania