Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to search Skip to section navigation

Ireland Criminal Law Codification Advisory Committee

Committee Members

The members of the Criminal Law Codification Advisory Committee are:

  • Professor Finbarr McAuley, Chairman, Jean Monnet Professor of European Criminal Justice Law, University College, Dublin and Law Reform Commissioner
  • Mr Conal Boyce, Solicitor, Member of the Criminal Law Committee of the Law Society of Ireland
  • Ms Valerie Fallon, Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform
  • Mr Matthew Feely, Office of the Attorney General
  • Ms Elizabeth Howlin, Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Dr Richard Humphreys, Barrister-at-Law
  • The Hon. Mr Justice Patrick J. McCarthy, Judge of the High Court
  • Professor Paul O’Connor, School of Law, University College, Dublin
  • Ms Mags O’Driscoll, Barrister-at-Law
  • Ms Lia O’Hegarty, Consultant on legislation and public affairs and member of the Human Rights Commission
  • Mr Caoimhin Ó hUiginn, former Assistant Secretary, Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform

Departmental Secretariat

The role of the Criminal Law Codification Secretariat is to provide administrative support to the Advisory Committee to assist it in its work.

The members of the Secretariat staff are:

  • Ms Valerie Fallon, Principal Officer, Director
  • Ms Tracy O’Keeffe, Assistant Principal
  • Mr Conor Nelson, Executive Officer
  • Ms Aisling Ní Chaoláin, Stagiaire
  • Ms Joanna Willford, Stagiaire
  • Mr Sean Doyle, Clerical Officer

Research Support Unit

The Research Support Unit, located in the School of Law in University College, Dublin and headed by Professor Finbarr McAuley, will undertake the research tasks assigned to it by the Advisory Committee. The Research Support Unit will become in the longer term a centre of excellence for the codification process.

The research staff in the Research Support Unit are:

  • Ms Caroline Davin-Power
  • Mr Carl Grainger
  • Mr Sean Ó Toghda