Previous Roberts Lecturers

1957	The Honorable Felix Frankfurter
1958	Professor Arthur L. Goodhart
1959	The Honorable Paul Henri Spaak
1961	Professor Herbert Wechsler
1962	Lord Patrick A. Devlin
1963	Dean Andrew Cordier
1964	Professor Paul Freund
1965	The Honorable Roger Traynor
1966	The Honorable Abba Eban
1967	Chief F.R.A. Williams
1969	The Honorable Arthur J. Goldberg
1970	Professor Covey T. Oliver
1971	The Honorable Ervin N. Griswold
1972	Mr. Anthony Lewis
1973	The Honorable William H. Hastie
1974	Professor Archibald Cox
1975	The Honorable Henry J. Friendly
1976	Anthony Lester, Q.C.
1977	Professor Edward Levi
1978	The Honorable Shirley M. Hufstedle
1979	Sydney Kentridge, S.C.
1980	The Honorable Wade H. McCree, Jr.
1981	Professor Andre Tunc
1982	Professor Paul J. Mishkin
1983	The Honorable Cyrus R. Vance
1984	Lloyd N. Cutler, Esquire
1985	Professor Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr.
1986	Professor Louis B. Schwartz
1987	The Honorable Arlin M. Adams
1988	Professor Sissela Bok
1989	Professor A. Leo Levin
1991	The Honorable John J. Gibbons
1992	The Honorable Ismail Mohomed
1993	Professor Richard Rorty
1994	Professor John Rawls
1996	Professor Stephen L. Carter (Spring
1996	The Honorable Louis H. Pollak (Fall
1997	Professor Ronald Dworkin
1998	Professor Cass Sunstein
1999	Professor Sanford V. Levinson
2000	Professor Martha L. Minow
2002	The Honorable Guido Calabresi
2003	Justice Antonin Scalia

2004 The Honorable Patricia M. Wald



THE OWEN J. ROBERTS MEMORIAL LECTURE

Presented by

KATHLEEN M. SULLIVAN

Tuesday, February 8, 2005 4:30 P.M. Lecture

Reception immediately following

"Do We Have an Emergency Constitution"

The Roberts Lectureship was established in 1957 to honor Owen J. Roberts, an 1895 graduate of the College of the University of Pennsylvania and an 1898 graduate of the Law School. He was a former Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court and Dean of the University of Pennsylvania Law School (1948-1952). It is considered the foremost endowed lectureship at the Penn Law School. Over the years, the Roberts Lectureship has brought the Law School distinguished jurists and scholars such as Felix Frankfurter, Arthur Goldberg, Henry Friendly, William Hastie, Louis Pollak, Herbert Wechsler, Edward Levi, Archibald Cox, Paul Freund, Ronald Dworkin, John Rawls, Guido Calabresi and Antonin Scalia.



KATHLEEN M. SULLIVAN

Kathleen M. Sullivan is the Stanley Morrison Professor of Law at Stanford Law School, where she served as Dean from 1999 to 2004. She received a B.A. with distinction in all subjects in 1976 from Cornell University, which she attended as a Telluride Scholar, a B.A. in philosophy, politics and economics with first-class honours in 1978 from Oxford University, which she attended as a Marshall Scholar, and a J.D. *cum laude* in 1981 from Harvard Law School, where she won the Ames moot court competition.

After a clerkship with Judge James L. Oakes on the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and two years of constitutional law practice with Harvard law professor Laurence H. Tribe, she became a professor at Harvard Law School, where she taught for nearly a decade before joining the Stanford faculty in 1993. Her specialty is constitutional law, and she is author of numerous articles in the field and co-author with late Stanford law professor Gerald Gunther of the classic casebook Constitutional Law. She has won prizes for excellence in teaching at both Harvard and Stanford, and is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Philosophical Society.

This year she is a Visiting Scholar at the National Constitution Center/University of Pennsylvania Law School.