This program has been approved for one hour of substantive law credit for Pennsylvania lawyers and may be likewise approved for other jurisdictions. For CLE credit please bring a check made out to The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania in the amount of \$25.

## THE NATIONAL SECURITY CONSTITUTION IN AN AGE OF GLOBALIZATION int

#### Lecture: Dean Harold Koh

THE 2008-2009 ENDOWED LECTURE SERIES AT PENN LAW

Dean and Gerard C. & Bernice Latrobe Smith Professor of International Law at Yale Law School

### **National Constitution Cente** Kirby Auditorium 525 Arch Street Philadelphia, PA

Monday, September 15th, 2008 • 5:30 p.m.

and the



NATIONAL CONSTITUTION CENTER

## Globalization and the Law: A Look Past Cultural and National Borders



1957 The Honorable Felix Frankfurter 1958 Professor Arthur L. Goodhart

- EB 1959 The Honorable Paul Henri Spaak
- 1961 Professor Herbert Wechsler
- CTUR 1962 Lord Patrick A. Devlin
- ш 1963 Dean Andrew Cordier

S

- S 1964 Professor Paul Freund
- RT 1965 The Honorable Roger Traynor
- ш 1966 The Honorable Abba Eban В
- 1967 Chief F.R.A. Williams 0
- æ 1969 The Honorable Arthur J. Goldberg
- S 1970 Professor Covey T. Oliver
- 1971 The Honorable Ervin N. Griswold
- <u>EVIOU</u> 1972 Mr. Anthony Lewis
- 1973 The Honorable William H. Hastie ΡR
- 1974 Professor Archibald Cox 1975 The Honorable Henry J. Friendly
- 1976 Anthony Lester, Q.C.
- 1977 Professor Edward Levi
- 1978 The Honorable Shirley M. Hufstedler 1979 Sydney Kentridge, S.C.
- 1980 The Honorable Wade H. McCree, Jr.
- 1981 Professor Andre Tunc
- 1982 Professor Paul J. Mishkin
- 1983 The Honorable Cyrus R. Vance
- 1984 Lloyd N. Cutler, Esquire
- 1985 Professor Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr.
- 1986 Professor Louis B. Schwartz
- 1987 The Honorable Arlin M. Adams 1988 Professor Sissela Bok
- 1989 Professor A. Leo Levin
- 1991 The Honorable John J. Gibbons 1992 The Honorable Ismail Mohomed
- 1993 Professor Richard Rorty 1994 Professor John Rawls
- 1996 Professor Stephen L. Carter (Spring) 1996 The Honorable Louis H. Pollak (Fall) 1997 Professor Ronald Dworkin
- 1998 Professor Cass Sunstein 1999 Professor Sanford V. Levinson 2000 Professor Martha L. Minow
- 2002 The Honorable Guido Calabresi
- 2003 Justice Antonin Scalia 2004 The Honorable Patricia M. Wald 2005 Professor Kathleen M. Sullivan
- 2006 Justice Richard J. Goldstone 2007 Justice Aharon Barak



7

The Roberts Lectureship was established in 1957 to honor Owen I. Roberts, an 1895 Graduate of the College of the University of Pennsylvania and an 1898 graduate of the Law School. He was a former Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States and Dean of the University of Pennsylvania Law School (1948-1952). It is considered the foremost endowed lectureship at Penn Law School. Over the years the Roberts Lectureship has brought to the Law School such distinguished jurists and scholars as Felix Frankfurter, Antonin Scalia, William Hastie, Louis Pollak, Herbert Wechsler, Archibald Cox, Paul Freund, Ronald Dworkin, John Rawls, Guido Calabresi, and Kathleen Sullivan.

The 2008 Roberts Lecture is presented by the University of Pennsylvania Law School in conjunction with the National Constitution Center. It is the second lecture in this series to be held at the Center in recognition of the significance of Constitution Day. It is made possible by an endowment from the law firm of Montgomery McCracken LLP and is supported by the Pennsylvania Chapter of the Order of the Coif and The Law Alumni Society of Penn Law.

# HAROLD HONGJU KOH



**Harold Hongju Koh** is Dean and Gerard C. & Bernice Latrobe Smith Professor of International Law at Yale Law School, where he has taught international law, human rights, and civil procedure since 1985 and has served since 2004 as the fifteenth Dean. From 1998 to 2001, he served as Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor. A graduate of Harvard College, Oxford University (where he was a Marshall Scholar), and Harvard Law School (where he was Developments Editor of the *Harvard Law Review*), he went on

to serve as law clerk to Judge Malcolm Richard Wilkey of the D.C. Circuit, and Justice Harry A. Blackmun of the U.S. Supreme Court. Before coming to Yale in 1985, he practiced law at the Washington law firm of Covington & Burling and at the Office of Legal Counsel at the U.S. Department of Justice. He has written more than 80 articles and authored or co-authored eight books, including Transnational Legal Problems (with H. Steiner & D. Vagts) and The National Security Constitution, which won the American Political Science Association's award as the best book on the American Presidency. Dean Koh has been awarded nine honorary doctorates and two law school medals and has received more than twenty-five awards for his human rights work, including representation of Haitian refugees before the U.S. Supreme Court (described in Brandt Goldstein, Storming the Court: How A Band of Yale Law Students *Fought the President and Won* (2005)). Dean Koh is a Fellow of the American Philosophical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an Honorary Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford, a Visiting Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford, and a member of the Council of the American Law Institute. He has served as an Editor of the American Journal of International *Law* and the Foundation Press Casebook Series. He has received Guggenheim and Century Foundation Fellowships and sat on the boards of directors or overseers of Harvard University, the Brookings Institution, National Democratic Institute, Human Rights First, Human Rights in China, and the American Arbitration Association. He has been named by American Lawyer magazine as one of America's 45 leading public sector lawyers under the age of 45, and by A Magazine as one of the 100 most influential Asian-Americans of the 1990s. He has given several dozen named lectures at universities around the world, and received the 2005 Louis B. Sohn Award from the American Bar Association and the 2003 Wolfgang Friedmann Award from Columbia Law School for his lifetime achievements in International Law.